To view the Ofsted dashboard, please click here.

The Board of Leigh Academies Trust has a range of powers and responsibilities that it is legally required to carry out, working in a close, balanced partnership with the Chief Executive and Academy Principals, to ensure that each academy provides the best possible education for all its students.

The Halley Academy also has a local Academy Board. The Academy Board is responsible for the governance of the academy. In particular, it performs the following statutory functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

The Chair of The Halley Academy Board also sits on the central Trust Board to ensure effective, coherent governance across the Trust as a whole.

Detailed, cross-cutting work is carried out by three central Committees – Standards, Resources and Audit – which report to the full Trust Board.

Further Information About Governance

The following links will take you to further information regarding the academy’s governance arrangements:

Academy Board’s Terms of Reference

Leigh Academies Trust Governance Structure

South-East London Cluster Governance Structure (with names of governors)

Academy Board Governors’ Attendance 2018/19

Academy Board Governors’ Pecuniary Interests

Trust’s Annual Report and Audited Accounts [2016-17]

Trust’s Annual Report and Audited Accounts [2017-18]

Trust’s Funding Agreement and Articles of Association

Contact Address

If you have any queries concerning governance at the Trust or its Academies, please contact us by email at the following address:

Board of Governors

Kate Shiner (Chair)

Ruthanne Straughan (Vice Chair)

Tracey Trusler (Trust Governor)

John Dixon (Principal)

David Jarrett (The Tallow Chandlers)

Dee Conway

Gabriella Belgrave

Emma Smith (Principal Governor)

Tope Balogun

Philip Fashanu

Debo Gbakinro

Joseph Thomas

Sue Ebanks (Clerk)